CSC Admin

rss feed

CSC Admin's Latest Posts


| February 28, 2023

1922 A strong earthquake hits Cebu and destroys, among others, the tile roofing of the San Nicolas Church.

Continue Reading


| February 27, 2023

1866 Birth in Ermita, Manila, of Alejandro Ruiz, who represented Cebu for several terms in the Philippine Assembly. 1919 Birth in Danao, Cebu, of Alejandro D. Almendras, who became Danao Governor, Cabinet Member, and Philippine Senator. 1945 Gen. Douglas MacArthur turns over the civil government of the Philippines to Commonwealth President Sergio Osmeña, Sr.

Continue Reading


| February 26, 2023

1886 The territorial Audiencia of Cebu is established. Its jurisdiction covers not only Cebu but Negros, Panay, Samar, Calamianes, Masbate, Leyte, Jolo, and other islands. 1899 General Elwell Otis orders a battalion of the 3rd U.S. Infantry to proceed to Cebu to relieve the Navy which had taken charge of the City since February 22. […]

Continue Reading


| February 25, 2023

1899 The first American ground troops, a detachment of 50 soldiers from the steamship “Boston”, arrive in Cebu to help secure American rule in the provinces. 1964 Death of Mariano Jesus Cuenco, Philippine Senator and long-time political kingpin of Cebu.

Continue Reading


| February 24, 2023

1863 A royal decree reestablishes the parish of Toledo. It was originally the parish of Jinulauan. 1905 Philippine Commission passes Republic Act. No. 1303 granting Martin M. Levering the franchise to install, operate and maintain an electric light, heat and power supply system in Cebu. Levering, Arlington Pond, and partners later sold the franchise to […]

Continue Reading


| February 23, 2023

1899 Capt. Charles C. Cornwell, commander of the American gunboat “Petrel”, hoists the American flag up the staff of the Government House in Cebu City. This marks the formal occupation of the City of Cebu by the Americans.

Continue Reading


| February 22, 2023

1899 Cebuano leaders under Luis Flores surrender “under protest” the City of Cebu to the Americans. At 8:00 in the morning, Pablo Mejia, representing the Cebuanos, hands the document of surrender to the commander of the American gunboat “Petrel”.

Continue Reading


| February 21, 2023

1871 A bishop’s decree confirms the erection of Consolacion, Cebu, as a parish. 1899 At around 11:00 in the morning, the American gunboat “Petrel” docks in Cebu and signals the start of the American occupation in Cebu. On this day, the leaders of the Republic in Cebu meet to deliberate on what course of action […]

Continue Reading


| February 20, 2023

1952 Col. Ramon Enriquez takes over as commander of the III Military Area with headquarters in Cebu.

Continue Reading


| February 18, 2023

1911 Colegio de San Carlos, known as the oldest school in the country, is formally incorporated.

Continue Reading