RSSToday in the History of Cebu


| August 26, 2017 | 0 Comments

1825 A Bishop’s decree confirms the establishment of Badian, Cebu, as a parish. It is separated from the jurisdiction of Barili. 1963 Col. James M. Cushing, leader of the Cebu resistance against the Japanese, dies after a heart attack on board an interisland vessel between Palawan and Mindoro. He dies a poor man at the […]

Continue Reading


| August 25, 2017 | 0 Comments

1949 Mons. Gabriel M. Reyes of Cebu is raised as Archbishop-Coadjutor of Manila with the right of succession to Archbishop Dougherty.

Continue Reading


| August 24, 2017 | 0 Comments

1896 The Philippine Revolution begins. In a secret assembly of the Katipunan held in the Manila suburb of Balintawak, a decision is reached to start a general uprising against Spain.

Continue Reading


| August 23, 2017 | 0 Comments

1844 A royal decree establishes Liloan as a parish. This is confirmed by a decree of the Bishop on Jan. 27, 1845. 1903 American Thomas H. Hendrick is consecrated as Bishop of Cebu. 1951 Sergio Osmeña, Jr., at the age of 34, launches his political career with a ringing speech at Plaza Independencia and the […]

Continue Reading


| August 22, 2017 | 0 Comments

Fiesta of Minglanilla, Cebu 1903 Birth in Escalante, Negros Occidental, of Cebuano writer and newspaperman Napoleon Dejoras (1903-1972). 1905 Secretary of War William H. Taft, with a party of high American officials, visits Cebu in the course of an inspection tour. 1963 A degree of the Cebu Archbishop divides the Santo Rosario parish into two […]

Continue Reading


| August 21, 2017 | 0 Comments

1595 The Jesuits establish the Colegio de San Ildefonso, forerunner of the University of San Carlos. Prominent in its establishment are the Jesuit fathers Pedro Chirino and Gonzalo Pereira.

Continue Reading


| August 20, 2017 | 0 Comments

1572 An Ecce Homo image is discovered in a grave that is opened in Cebu. 1804 Augustinian Joaquin Encabo de la Virgen de Sopetran is appointed as 13th Bishop of Cebu. 1902 Col. Charles G. Penny assumes command of the U.S. garrison in Cebu, succeeding Lt. Col. Theodore F. Forbes.

Continue Reading


| August 19, 2017 | 0 Comments

1851 A Bishop’s decree confirms the establishment of Carmen, Cebu, as a parish. It is separated from the jurisdiction of Catmon and placed under the patronage of San Agustin Obispo y Doctor.

Continue Reading


| August 18, 2017 | 0 Comments

1921 The local newspaper, Bag-Ong Kusog, reports on a brewing controversy over the staging of the moro-moro play Gonzalo de Cordoba in the patio of San Nicolas Church. This develops into a war of Cebu newspapers and political parties (Nacionalistas and Democratas) over the value of the moro-moro as popular entertainment.

Continue Reading


| August 17, 2017 | 0 Comments

1907 The Philippine Commission passes Public Act No. 1688 providing funds for the completion of the Cebu-Toledo and Carcar-Barili roads. 1945 President Jose P. Laurel announces the dissolution of the Philippine Republic established during the Japanese occupation.

Continue Reading